
The site of Gourock
Castle was distinguishable in 1955 as a small, flat-topped mound. The structure was demolished in the eighteenth century,
and the site appears to have remained undisturbed since then.
It may therefore prove valuable
in terms of the contextual information - and perhaps even the structural remains - surviving beneath the mound, and the site
should be considered a potential scheduling candidate.

|
Cut stone within the Castle's site? |
|
 |
|
|
 |


Gourock Castle, the seat of the barony of Finnart-Stewart, stood above the town of Gourock; it was
pulled down about 1747. In 1856, the site was pointed out by Major Darroch (proprietor) , who stated that a few stones, visible
near the edge of the Gourock Burn, formed part of the original foundations. In the reign of James II (1437-60) it was forfeited
by the Earl of Douglas and passed to the Stewarts of Castlemilk.
|
 |
|
|