The ruins of Easter Greenock Castle stood in the angle formed by the
railway, at the E end of the tunnels at Hillend. Though the lands were owned by the Crawfurds from the end of the 14th century,
they do not appear to have stayed here until about the mid-16th century.
Here the Crawfurds of Kilbirnie "had
a good estate and an antient possession of their family well known by the name of Easter Kilbirny alias Kibery-Grenock sold
1667 by Dame Margt Craufurd to Sir John Shaw of Greenock".
The site of the Castle's location today is Castle Road, near the Lady Octavia Sports Centre
but nothing remains of the castle.