Archaeology Inverclyde

White's Well & Pulpit Rock

Carved Stones 1
Carved Stones 2
Kempock Stone
Roman Sites
White's Well & Pulpit Rock
Gourock Castle
Easter Greenock Castle
Newark Castle
Toward Castle

Covenanters' or White's Well:


Coventicles were held here in the late 17th century. A large outcrop of rocks forms a natural pulpit known as the 'Pulpit Rock' and nearby was a supply of clear water known as the 'Convenanters Well', reference to which was made as early as 1698. This well is also known as "White's Well" as the name 'J White' is inscribed on the large rock which covers the opening; apparently he was one of the Covenanters who met here. The well was probably used for baptism; it is in a cavity under the rock, first rising perpendicular, then sloping inwards, forming a natural tablet on which is incised the date '1698', the words 'White's Well', and the letters 'B O M'.
Pulpit Rock



The Pulpit Rock was a natural pulpit with book-board, which was destroyed by vandals in 1947; behind it were two steps. On the remaining outcrop of rocks were many and varied masons' marks, even cup-and-ring marks, which were erased by a vandal in 1951. Neither the symbols nor the steps referred to above can now be seen. It is simply a free-standing stone.

Click here to join AInverclyde
Click to join AInverclyde